This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.3 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
8.1
Property location
8.8
Facilities
8.0
Staff
8.5
Value
7.6
Reviews
    Stuart
    gb
    8.3
    15 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ca
    5.0
    7 December 2017
    In the dark.
    No wifi at all. Our main light in the room broke and they could not fix it so we had to spend the rest of our time in a DARK DARK room and use our flashlight. We rented bikes and each one we got (4 different ones) were all broken beyond use. We paid more for this hotel as a treat during our month long trip and seriously regretted it. The pool has a bar but no bartender.
    Nice pool
    Mary
    cr
    8.8
    13 November 2017
    Peaceful & Pleasant
    It's the second time visiting and this time I noticed that the place looks a bit more unattended and a few areas didn't look clean like the small pool on the deck
    Very beautiful and unique hotel design!
    gb
    10
    4 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Henrik
    se
    5.4
    1 November 2017
    OK; but kind of run down. There are lots of better places in Costa Rica.
    William
    gb
    7.9
    26 October 2017
    Cabins at back best - ones near road need refurbishing. OK Wifi, Great location. Good buffet breakfast. Sloths on site.
    ch
    5.4
    20 October 2017
    Unconfy beds & pillows. Water didnt drain in the shower. Breakfast ok, but only one fruit on the "fruit platter"...
    Wild animals in the resort
    CARLOS
    cr
    10
    17 September 2017
    Excelente
    Las habitaciones y piscina
    La family house
    Milena
    cr
    8.3
    2 May 2017
    The bed and bathroom linen were in bad shape.
    The pool is awesome!!!
    Esteban
    cr
    8.3
    2 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    David
    gb
    6.7
    28 March 2017
    Cabins excellant and swimmining pool OK, otherwise breakfast ordinary, poor towels - expensive.
    Thin, small bath towells. No pool/beach towells. Poor breakfast choices - compare with Barcelo!
    Cabins, swimming pool
    at
    7.5
    24 March 2017
    Caribbean holiday par excellence
    No easy way to go to beach, neither at night nor in the early morning (i.e., a longish detour)
    Lovely pool, surrounded by the jungle
    Viviana Molina
    cr
    7.1
    20 March 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lizziekins
    gb
    8.3
    6 March 2017
    Pretty chilled few days
    Pool bar was never staffed once during my 4 night stay. Beach bar closes any in between 5.30-6.30pm - depending on customers. Location - hotel is opposite Cocles beach but you can't swim in the sea (surfing only) so either hire bikes or take a taxi up to Punta Uva (or walk to Puerto Vijejo - though the beach isn't great there). No beds on the beach either - so bring a hammock/towel. You will also need to bring your own towel for beach/pool - of they'll make you buy one. Internet in my room was hit & miss - once I got on it was fine. Otherwise open wifi access in the lobby.
    After travelling around Costa Rica for 3 weeks I needed some chill out time which is why I chose this place. Great room - standard garden room, with a huge bed. Very clean as well - shower could have been better. Breakfast excellent (eggs pancakes, gallo pinto etc). Staff were helpful - either with suggestions of where to eat or organising trips/taxis. A sloth stayed close to my room, and got to watch frogs at breakfast - which were fabulous. Restaurant serves fantastic food in the evening - if a little on the pricey side. No issues with refilling my water bottle free of charge at the bar (though you have to pay for bottled water - which is standard) Hotel security seemed a little over the top (guard at the gate at all time) - but as it's Puerto Viejo I can understand why (don't walk alone at night - daytime is fine) I understand this hotel can be seen as pricey (Costa Rica isn't as cheap as you may think). But I got a deal so I think I got good value. Would I pay more? Possibly not.
    Geraldine
    gb
    7.1
    11 January 2017
    Great holiday - Caribbean style!
    We had issues with our booking and one member of staff wasn't nice, actually lied a couple times, have made complaint. Lets just leave it at that, but he came close to ruining our holiday!
    Our first room was amazing, Jungle Standard. We had to move rooms twice! There is a nice pool and pool bar. Breakfast food is average, buffet style. The staff are lovely and if you make an effort to speak Spanish, you might get rewarded with an extra egg or pancake! 😎The beach is across the road, surfer paradise, and other nicer beaches are within driving or cycling distance. Very good restaurants in town and locally. French bakery just up the road, wonderful find!
    Alexander
    ca
    6.2
    31 December 2016
    Disappointed.
    We had only cold water in the shower. We asked the staff for help several times, and nothing happened. In a decent hotel, you would expect to be moved to a different room, but we were not offered this option at all, and the staff didn't even say sorry. Also, the towels looked quite old and dirty.
    The hotel itself is beautiful and very close to the beach. Not too far from the town. It's a safe location with guards at the gates. The breakfast is quite decent.
    Ross
    nl
    9.6
    28 December 2016
    There was a small problem with our reservation. However, the staff were brilliant. They upgraded us to a better room and really took care of us. The place is fantastic. The pool is beautiful, and the proximity to the beach is great.
    Michelle
    au
    10
    13 December 2016
    A fantastic place to stay
    Hot water, tea or coffee not available after hours. That is all.
    Great food, excellent service and location. Lovely feel and nicely presented. Very helpful and happy staff.
    Renata
    es
    9.6
    17 November 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Tatiana
    cr
    8.3
    12 November 2016
    Breakfast wasn't great (could add more fruits). I had to pay directly for any extras (food) instead of getting the charge added to my bill.
    Staff was friendly. Very concerned about security (always checking people entering and leaving the property), it made me feel safe.
Loading reviews
Close